During the fall of 1924, the Manistique Women’s Club sponsored an essay contest at the Central School concerning the early history of Manistique. They hoped to kindle an interest in local history among the community’s young people. The Pioneer Historical Society had just been organized a year earlier, so there was little written material available for research. But the students had an even better source of information to draw upon—the pioneers themselves. Many of Manistique’s earliest settlers were still alive and residing in the area. The essays that the students produced are a treasure trove of information, but leave us wishing for even more. The winning essays were read before a school assembly at the Central School and were later published in the local paper as follows:
The old ‘Wood Bridge’ called the Red Bridge was condemned in 1890, the ‘Iron Bridge’ was built parallel to the old wood bridge.
Once the new bridge was completed, the old wood bridge (‘Red Bridge’) became firewood.
Once the Siphon Bridge was built in 1919, the steel girders of the above bridge was used for various building projects throughout the county.
The iconic Siphon Bridge was built across the Manistique River in 1919 by the Manistique Pulp and Paper Company, which was owned by the Minneapolis Tribune Publishing Company.
153 years ago, our waterway community was founded in 1860 by Charles Harvey, a business man who sought to build a small dam on the Manistique River. He would first name the area Epsport, after his wife’s family name. Enjoy a very rare look back in time and enjoy the Manistique Centennial Parade 1960. Shot on 8mm film. See if you recognize some names of people on the floats at the end.